Billygoat Outback Brushcutter

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Pecker, Nov 22, 2004.

1. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member

Does anybody own one? How rugged is it and does it work well? Also, although it is a rough cut mower, would it cut grass and leave anywhere close to a decent cut? (I have a couple customers with drainage problems and when I finally can mow it I'm mowing 6 or 8" tall grass. . .).

I don't have alotta use for one (a few times a year and my Toro 32" gets torchered) but when ya need it ya need it. Even if I can't use it for this it still would be nice to have for cutting 4wheeler trails. Anybody know where to get one used for a good price (other than eBay because they are ALWAYS at least 500 miles away)?

2. xcopterdoc

xcopterdoc LawnSite Senior Member

We had 2 of them where I worked as a mechanic. They cut well, the engines were 13hp Honda I think. BUT! the engine controls sucked. The throttle/choke cable was always breaking as was the blade clutch cable. They would cut grass I suppose but its more like a bush hog cut.. about 4 inches. The deck has skids to adjust the height. Our guys said it was a real handful to hang on to in a sloping ditch. I wouldnt buy one.. just my personal opinion. Then again, I'm not an operator. Might get some info on the DR mower.

3. JustMowIt

JustMowIt LawnSite Senior Member

We purchased a Billy Goat several years ago, because we have a 25 acre place with a lot of brush where our shop is located. It is good for anything up to the size of your big finger, but ours requires a trip to the shop pretty often. Mainly the belts & the gas lever gives a lot of trouble.

It is not good for regular grass.
    MJ

4. daycab

daycab LawnSite Member