Biodiesel, anybody make their own?

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by lwcmattlifter, Jul 7, 2005.

1. lwcmattlifter

lwcmattlifter LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I'm thinking about switching over since #2 is getting expensive. For those that make it what system do you use?

2. mosmgras

mosmgras LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I've been making my own for about 6 months now. I run it pure in my NPR, 321d and tractor. I run a mix in my pickup. Runs great. I can't tell a difference in it and petrol. diesel except that bio costs me about $.80/gal. to make. Sure beats giving my money to some arab prince. payup

3. Drew Gemma

Drew Gemma LawnSite Bronze Member

how are you making it so cheap up here till I get the used oil it is about 90 cents a gallon. then to make it? what is the secret please share.

4. mosmgras

from NC

I get WVO for free from a local resturant. I get about 30 gallons a week. This is enough to make about 20-25 gallons of Biodiesel. The only thing that I purchase is Methenol and Lye. Lye is cheap, Meth. runs about $4/gal from a local race shop. Hope this helps.

5. lwcmattlifter

lwcmattlifter LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

Is there a difference in quality between Veggie oil and peanut? mosmgras, did you buy a kit to make the diesel or did you fab one yourself? Is it easier to use virgin oil instead of WVO? Anyone know how much new oil costs?

6. mosmgras

from NC