1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Blade options and mower setup for Florida

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by South Florida Lawns, Jul 20, 2006.

1. South Florida Lawns

South Florida Lawns LawnSite Platinum Member
    from usa

Ok I got a 44" Toro Z with 19hp. I got the mulch kit too. Works fine most of time but sucks in tall St. Augustine grass this time a year with clumping and mower bogs alot. Kinda pisses me off.

I was thinking about trying mulch blades and side discharge with an ocdc, I know the cut should be nice, but not a lot of people in my area sd, I'm just holding back on experimenting, cuz I have very little knowledge with mower setup.

Plus I don't have a lot of cash to use.

Any other Florida guys have insight on this setup let me know, especially if you mow St. Augustine and have smaller lots. I just want to get the most outta my mower.
  2. mowerman90

mowerman90 LawnSite Bronze Member

A couple of my friends had 44" Toros and for some reason none of them liked the way they mulched in Floratam. They're solution was to get 48 or 52's. From what you've said a new mower is out of the question, so if I were you I'd:
    a. try discharging
    b. try double blades

Once you get some cash get yourself a Hustler Super Z and your troubles will be over.
  3. Turf Technologies

Turf Technologies LawnSite Senior Member
    from Florida

Just side discharge , because trying to mulch Flortam in the summer just makes a big mess. I have been able to mulch some of my Flortam lawns because of theis dry weather, otherwise forget about it.
  4. Cornwell

Cornwell LawnSite Member