blade tip speed ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawn storm, Feb 27, 2003.

1. lawn storm

lawn storm LawnSite Member

blade tip speed is any where from 15,000 to over 19,000 on most ztr's . even with the same motor.
    can you increase blade tip speed your self ?

2. Phishook

Phishook LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm sure you could.
    Change the pulley size, bump the rpm's up. But I'm no engineer.
    Why would you want to mess with it?

3. lawn storm

lawn storm LawnSite Member

my great dane cloggs up unless, i cut completly dry grass( no dew)the dbl. blades help but not enough.
    i wouldnt want to mess with the pulleys but i did idle it up more .but it still does it.

4. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

A deck clogging up is usually the result trying to get too much grass through a given designed deck. Increasing BTS can sometimes help but it has been my experience that other factors are involved. Some of those factors are blade depth in the deck, baffling, blade offset and discharge. Most of the problems occur at the left blade, at the verticle point where the rear baffles meet each other and the rear of the discharge opening.

5. Thompson Lawns

Thompson Lawns LawnSite Member
    from OK

I know this is a little off the subject, but is the tip speed that important as long as its between 17,000 and 18,500? I have noticed that exmark claims one of the highest tip speed is this the reason most think it has clean cut? besides keeping the blades sharp!

6. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

I think that grass blade lift and blade sharpness are as important a part of the equation in achieving a clean cut as BTS. High BTS comes into play as the mower moves faster across the lawn. If you have a mower that goes 5 MPH there will be twice as many chances to cut all of the blades of grass as a mower that is moving at 10 MPH given the same BTS.