bluebird sod cutter and trench master

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by www.rs-lawn.com, Dec 10, 2006.

1. www.rs-lawn.com

www.rs-lawn.com LawnSite Member

i am looking to buy a trench master and a bluebird sod cutter. i have rented a bluebird before and loved it. i want to know if anyone has had any problems with either pieces of equipment. i have used the ryan and i honestly don't know what all the hype is about. they are very shakey, whereas the bluebird is like a tank. i am buying the trench master kinda blind as i have never used one before, but there is a good price on one. has anyone used it on small stumps? it is one of those pieces that i would like to have around just to have. any advice on wither pieces? i kinda already made up my mind, but i just want a just need some reassurance. Thanks fellas!

2. Lawnmasters

Lawnmasters LawnSite Member

We bought one of the first trenchmaster designs years ago. only 5 horse motor, non steerable. But love it. We used to trench all beds by hand. One property would take 3 guys 3 days to trench out, haul off spoil. Now, one guy can trench the whole thing in 5-6 hours. We have literally wore ours out. Welded it back together and wore it out again. Used up 3 or 4 rotors on it. I think they are great.

3. paolaken

paolaken LawnSite Senior Member

trench master is the best piece of equipment i own. as far as saving labor on edging anyway. i just about wore mine out also. its a 6 hp but none steering. the new ones are really nice.

4. jreiff

jreiff LawnSite Senior Member
    from MN

And why would you want to use it on stumps???

5. www.rs-lawn.com

www.rs-lawn.com LawnSite Member

thats what it says it does. small stumps like 10" big

6. PSUturf

PSUturf LawnSite Senior Member