Bobcat work...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by HEM, Jan 15, 2007.

1. HEM

HEM LawnSite Member

Hey guys here's a little background. I'm 20, I am a sophomore in college. I mowed lawns for the last 4 years and made a killing doing it. I even contemplated not going to college, but eventually my parents convinced me and I'm now a pilot building time, and I'm hoping to fly for a charter airline upon graduation. Anyways, I terribly miss mowing and working outside with equipment. I def. have the desire to get back into the business but I want something that will allow me to work year round but not keep me in town (like mowing lawns would.) I want the freedom to travel and schedule my own jobs, so I'm thinking about a skid steer/Bobcat (or CAT) business. What kind of prices can you charge? I know it differs by the area, but what's an average hourly charge? Also, I ideally it would be me and only me working with one skid steer, one trailer and one truck. (I have none of the three, as I sold my truck and trailer for school, BIG MISTAKE!). Anyways, what kind of advice would you older guys have for this 20 year old. Thanks.

Chandler

I should also add that I work 40 hours at the airport doing cargo and fuelling planes for airlines and GA aircraft. So, I would want something that gives me the flexibility to work my business during the weekends and while not at school and my full time gig.

2. Lugnut

Lugnut LawnSite Senior Member

If you're good with it you can make 800 bucks a day in New York

3. Tiller1240

Tiller1240 LawnSite Member

I'm not too sure what you would get for summer work, but up this way bobcat operators are getting anywhere from $150-250/hr for snow removal work in the winter months. Good luck to you...

4. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member