Boom Sprayer Technique

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GravelyGuy, Jun 27, 2007.

1. GravelyGuy

GravelyGuy LawnSite Silver Member
    from Indiana

I just picked up an account yesterday that is 60,000 square feet. This will be my biggest one yet. Up until now I have been using my gas powered Echo backpack sprayer to spray for weeds and then my Shindy spreader for fert. There is no way I want to backpack spray this entire yard. It is on horrible shape right now. I went to the TSC store and I bought this yesterday on sale. How will this work out? How even do you think the application wil be? I will be using Trimec as my broadleaf herbicide and I will still spread the dry fert. Any tips or techniques are welcome. I have it filled with water right now and I have been trying it out. It seems like it is going to be hard to get up close to the house and any flower beds. I still may have to use the backpack for these areas.

This is my first year doing applications and so far my lawns have been looking good with the backpack, but this one is just to big. I am nervous trying to use this on someone elses property. Here are some pics. Thanks for any help.

Also, one more thing. Is there anyway that I can prevent the tips from dripping after I shut it off? They drip until the line is empty. I don't want to burn the lawn anywhere.

Sprayer 001.jpg

Sprayer 002.jpg
  2. Grandview

Grandview LawnSite Gold Member
    from WI

Use nozzle bodies with a diaphragm to prevent dripping.
  3. GravelyGuy

from Indiana

Can I get these at TSC? When you say diaphram, is it like a piece of rubber in the nozzle?

4. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Ground Speed is important when calibrating your sprayer. Check out your local Bicycle shop for a reasonable priced Speedometer. It is not important that the speedometer tells the true speed so much as it helps you keep the same speed. Tracking dye will help you from over lapping or missing areas.
  5. GravelyGuy