Bottom Roller repair

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by TAF, Jan 24, 2007.

1. TAF

TAF LawnSite Member
    from Wa

Any advice out there regarding building up bottom rollers? I am a proficient welder and have a in house machine shop of my own. Just looking for some advice. I have been warned the ID bore will shrink if they get too hot while welding. No one seems to do repair work such as this anymore? Dealer cost is $192 ea which I think is high for these small rollers.
    Machine is a PC40-7 w/steel tracks. I need factory specs regarding OD and width also.

2. RockSet N' Grade

RockSet N' Grade LawnSite Silver Member

TAF....I'd call Peck Welding in Tacoma, Washington and talk with them as to their reccomendations. These guys specialize in mini's and have been (for me) an incredible resource for do's/don'ts and trouble shooters. Don has been my contact there........253-537-6301

3. minimax

minimax LawnSite Senior Member

How wore are they you will have to put new seals in them and press them a part and repress and refill with oil the seals on my 35 deere rollers run about $100 per roller and about a hour each to rebuild.

minimax

4. gammon landscaping

gammon landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

we always just run the bottom rollers till they start cutting in the bushung bosses then we replace then, more offten than not by the time that the outer wears down the bearings and seals are gone it is just simpler to replace the whole deal

5. JDSKIDSTEER

JDSKIDSTEER LawnSite Bronze Member

See if the dealer will give you a break on price if they order on stock order and pay cash. Freight and credit card charges eat a lot of profit up and is figured in some dealers prices.

6. dirthog

dirthog LawnSite Member