Branching Out..

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by TC Lawns, Jul 17, 2009.

1. TC Lawns

TC Lawns LawnSite Member

I currently have a commercial lawn care business that has been in business for 9 years and has 3 full time employees. We have many commercial and residential accounts and have plenty of work for the 3 guys I have cutting every day. We also do landscaping, anything from mulching a customers yard, to new contruction landscaping and renovation. I have always considered the landscaping jobs as "on the side work" since jobs come and go. The lawn maintenance side takes up most of our day to day operations. I have been running commercial mowers and lawn equipment for 9 years, and have recently brought my brother on as a supervisor with our cutting crew. As many of yall know, you can get a little burned out cutting grass every day. I really enjoy bidding on landscaping jobs, putting projects together, running equipment, and you get alot of satisfaction out of your finished product. And plus landscaping is where the money is at. I want to expand the landscaping side of my business so that I am doing that on a more day-to-day basis and let me brother run the lawn maintenance side. I dont have trouble finding landscaping jobs, its just that when we get a big one (sod or renovation job) my costs are high because it cuts into my cutting schedule and we rent most of our equipment. (skid steers, trenchers). I need some advise on which direction to step in terms of purchasing equipment (trucks, skidsteers...or just continue to rent). I see that my expenses are high because I am renting, but dont have alot of money to currently put up for a new piece of equipment. I also like doing site prep and dirt work. I would like to incorporate this into my business as well. I know that some jobs would require renting larger equipment but I am pretty good at getting jobs, bidding, and doing just about any type of site work.