Breaking the News?

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by akerr, Oct 22, 2005.

1. akerr

akerr LawnSite Member

How did you approach your boss about going out on your own? I have worked for my employer through college and three years full time since I graduated. He is an unbelievable craftsmen and horticulturists. We have a great working relationship. We only do installation so my boss set me up with alot of his clients doing the mowing maintenance. I do this in the afternoon and on the weekends. My boss knows I have my business set up (state registration, business account, logo, etc...) He is very supportive of what I am doing and this makes it tough to leave him, but everyone I talk to tell me I need to do my own thing to establish my company. The other tough thing is I am the only employee right now. Their use to be four guys but one by one they left because it wasn't what they want to do. I have thought about asking him if I could work three days a week starting in the spring. This would give me three to four days to do my own work, but seems like I am chickening out. Need some advice.
    Thanks for your time
    Adam

2. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

Sounds like he is a good mentor. Just be honest with him. Maybe he'll have some other ideas for you.

3. newz7151

newz7151 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Tejas

If he really only does installs, why not talk to him about becoming a partnership? Create a "one stop shop" company for the clients. You head the mowing portion, he heads the install portion. If you're going to be doing just mowing I don't see that it would be any conflict with you leaving him if he doesn't mow anyway.

4. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

The thing is soon you will be bored of mowing and want to move on to installs and stuff. Then you will be stepping on his toes. Working with him still, while you do your own install will be a mess.

Matt

5. Boycea

Boycea LawnSite Senior Member