1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Broke Newbie Advertising

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by 2006Silverado, Jul 22, 2007.

1. 2006Silverado

2006Silverado LawnSite Member
    from GA

Ok, I've searched the archives, etc. etc. Just not finding what I'm needing advice on.

I'm just getting started, mainly marketing Lawn Maintenance, have a decent setup thus far. I'm taking lots of Landscaping courses/seminars. Mainly so, I can eventually get heavy into that, but also so when things like 'could you put in a simple patio for me?', 'I would love a set up lights running up my driveway', etc., I will know enough to bid and do the job if within my skillset, or at least bid it and sub it out.

I have some money to spend, but of course, just like anybody else getting started, every dime I spend and don't see in return soon, is one dime closer to not making it in the long haul. I'm looking maybe a $1,000 at the most, at least until I get a few more customers/jobs. I can spend a few grand more, if A. It is really really really going to be worth it, B. Things are starting to really pick up.

So, I'm REALLY REALLY needing to get the advertising going strong. Suggestions...I know this is a really bad time of year to get started, should I wait to really hit it hard or spend money? So far I went door-to-door flyering. I was thinking maybe best to do it when the people are home, that way I can get face time with more, but wife doesn't think that's a good idea, she thinks just tape to door and walk away.