1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Bulk Mulch price? sub a bark blower?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by ceaman, Mar 20, 2002.

1. ceaman

ceaman LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I priced bulk mulch from the only local guy I know of. He said $20 per cubic yard of mulch picked up at his facility. I need aproximately 50 cubic yards of material. He offered no bulk discount.

Does any one know of any good place to buy bulk in Indiana?

How about subbing out to a bark blower? (Where do I find one)

MTCDAVE LawnSite Member

Ceaman, If you can find a blower truck, go for it. I have all my properties done by one. If they know what they are doing, it's there is NO WAY you can beat it. I'm a solo operator that does almost 100 yards and does not touch a yard. $$$$$ maker.
  3. Henry

Henry LawnSite Senior Member

I would sub it out. The labor to do that by hand would make it very expensive. You can still make money without having to do the work.
  4. TSS

TSS LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

ceaman- if you do find anyone in indiana please let me know. I haven't found anyone either. As far as the bark blower, I hopefully am in the process of buying one but not it gets closer till next year. That way i will be able to advertise this year for this service. Comming soon to a lawn near you..... bark blowing. :D
  5. ceaman

ceaman LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I found a bark blower.

Earthcorp of Indy
  6. jkelton

jkelton LawnSite Member

7. Russo

Russo LawnSite Senior Member

I have done more than 60 mulch jobs that took over 100 yards each in the past 3 years. I feel I've got to chime in on this one.

1. Will the sub-k mulch blower edge the beds?
    2. Will he pack or spread mulch as necessary to do the pro job that your name will go on?