Burning Bushes

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by NBurke3652, Dec 13, 2007.

1. NBurke3652

NBurke3652 LawnSite Member

I live in Louisville KY and I am new to the landscaping part of this business but I am wondering if it is ok to cut back burning bushes now in december? There are quite a few of them and I don't want to damage them for next year so if anyone could help out I would appreciate it. Need I say that we have had some inconsistent weather this year but it is somewhere around the high 50's right about now.

2. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic

I would probably wait until the bush is done burning; you dont want to burn your hands or lose your brow!

3. TXNSLighting

TXNSLighting LawnSite Fanatic
    from DFW, TX

ha! funny!!!

4. fastcat

fastcat LawnSite Senior Member

i am not 100% sure but i think u can cut any bush any time.

5. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic

You can cut off your leg at any time too, that doesnt mean it is a good idea or that it will look good.

6. ICT Bill

ICT Bill LawnSite Platinum Member

I agree with hoskm01 wait until early spring
    If you chop them off and have a bitter winter it will not be a good result

What is the word........dessication, they have no choice but to dry out and be hurt. The humidity during the winter is what???? 30% on average, often less for long periods

7. fastcat

fastcat LawnSite Senior Member

oh yea i forgot those bushes loose there leaves. duhhhhhhhhhhhhh

8. NBurke3652

NBurke3652 LawnSite Member

I guess I will just waint until early spring, I had imagined that it is too late now I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks

9. jwholden

jwholden LawnSite Member
    from CT