1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Bush hog or Finish Mower?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tjcezar, Dec 26, 2006.

1. tjcezar

tjcezar LawnSite Member
    from PA

I have a new 30hp Kubota and I just bought a Bush Hog 72" rear discharge finish mower for it which I have not been able to use yet. I am taking a look at a bid for mowing some right of ways which require approximately 2-3 mowings per year of some tall field grass. Probably mowing approx. 13" down to 6". Do you think the finish mower will be alright or do you think I will need a brush hog for this. Again I have had no experience with either of these units. I appreciate all your input on the performance of either of these units.
  2. davidcalhoun

davidcalhoun LawnSite Bronze Member

You will need a heavier bush hog. There will be some crap in those right of ways that could cause damage to you finish mower and your tires on the tractor.

Probably not worth the wear and tear for the winning bid/contract.

Most guys use a bigger bat-wing type mowers for large right of ways. It will be tough to win this bid against these larger guys and make a decent profit.
  3. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

The finishing mower will give you a nicer cut but the Bush Hog is made to be far more forgiving when you run across that stump or brick you couldn't see because of the tall grass. :confused: Look closely at what you're cutting, then decide.
  4. tjcezar

tjcezar LawnSite Member
    from PA

the row's are only 10' -15' wide and are just a small portion of the entire mowing bid. i do hear what your saying about the debris though.
  5. muddstopper

muddstopper LawnSite Silver Member

Did nobody else notice, he said a 72in finish mower and 30hp tractor in the same sentence? Is this a rear 3pt hitch mount?