Busier then ever and NOTHING to show?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Ethanslawn, Jun 29, 2014.

1. Ethanslawn

Ethanslawn LawnSite Senior Member

I was reading a thread the other day about being busier then ever and not having any real profit gains. At least i hope there was cause i can not find it. Anyway I am a solo operator and everything is paid except for a couple large purchases financed of course. Lately I have noticed that the pocketbook has been a little light as compared to last year. Now i know i have lost a couple of cash accounts but is it just me or everyone I have been getting more and more checks then ever. So now I am hustling up whatever work i can (more landscaping/tree trimming/etc.). And still no real gains, am I bidding things too cheaply or is the economy really in a downturn? Any thoughts or new ideas on how to make a buck would be great.

2. OakNut

OakNut LawnSite Platinum Member

Payment is payment. What difference does a check make?

I'm behind a little this season financially due to the late start to the growing season.

3. larryinalabama

larryinalabama LawnSite Fanatic

Im feeling the pain also this year. Some years are better than others, Hang in There!

4. 32vld

32vld LawnSite Gold Member

No difference.

Question to the OP: Out of every ten bids how many jobs do you get?

5. Ethanslawn

Ethanslawn LawnSite Senior Member

Roughly 2-3 bids but they aren't the big dollar commercial accounts. I have enough resodentals to keep me busy I wanna get into the commercial end more.
    Posted via Mobile Device

6. KS_Grasscutter

KS_Grasscutter LawnSite Gold Member