1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Business plan review. Please Help (Long)

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by mjninc1, Jul 3, 2004.

1. mjninc1

mjninc1 LawnSite Member

Hello, I am new to the site and this is my first post. This is a great source of information. Thanks for viewing.
    Below is my business plan.

My situation:

I’m 26, with a family. I have a good government job with great benefits and I want to start a lawn maintenance company on the side to supplement my income and possibly do full time. (I have a remote chance of being layed off.) I go to school 2 nights a week. (Except summer) and my major is economics. I get off work pretty early at 3:30 so that will give me time to do yards in the evenings and on Saturdays. I enjoy lawn maintenance and that is why I want to start in this field. I live near many $200’s+ to 850’s homes. My goals of the business are for the 1st year,

1. To make a profit.
    2. Learn business systems
    3. To be professional, legal, do it right, and to further the profession of lawn maintenance.
    4. To have the business pay for all of the equipment.

Here is a breakdown of my business plan. Please review and give advice, thanks for your time.
    It is July3rd and I don’t plan on starting until next February/March. I have a lot of planning to do and it gives me plenty of time to get things in place. All of the following figures are very close; some may be higher/lower.

Business expenses:

Incorporation: $900
    Business License: $250
    Insurance (BOP): $1400 per year.
    Insurance Business auto: $1300 per year.
    Certifications: (Certified Turfgrass Professional, Certified Ornamental Landscape professional.) $550
    Membership: PLCAA: $295
    Online service, website: $260
    P.O.Box: $68