Business Question

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Dahoopd, Nov 15, 2007.

1. Dahoopd

Dahoopd LawnSite Member

Well I was in the business for 4 years back in 99 and I only did lawn care, pruning and trimming. It wasnt legit but I had plans to do so. Long story short I had to get out of it. Well I recently acquired 10 customers because I was doing it on the side with a friend that had a decent business going but the friend had to go away for awhile. Out of all jobs I have ever had in my life, it was the one I enjoyed most and the one I have always been good at.

Anyway, I took the smaller lawns that I could with what I had left from my previous years. I want to build on what I have but dont think I am big enough to go legit even though its the right way to go. I work as an operations supervisor 3/13 hour days a week and am off 4 so I have the ability to support myself. Its also the perfect opportunity to build the clientel and grow a business.

My question is do you think its a bad choice to do flyers and business cards and try to build something my first year without a license and insurance. I have an 8000 bonus coming in march and thought it would be a good time to go out and buy most of the equipment I need. I dont mind using out of pocket to get started but I would hate to start the licensing and tax portion of the busniess with only 10 residential lawns.

I must say I spent the last 3 hours reading through just this forum and found nothing but awesome info. I can only imagine what my efforts this time around will bring being a part of this site. Thanks again for the help.

I am open to any and all feedback or blasting for the question. Thanks again.

2. packey

packey LawnSite Senior Member