Buying a customer base...Good? Bad?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by JeffW0011, Feb 21, 2007.

1. JeffW0011

JeffW0011 LawnSite Member

Sorry about previous "test" post. I was having problems getting my post to go through and wanted to make sure it was going this time before typing all this again. Here is the short version of my previous question.

I am a start up operator this spring. My goal is to start with the intention of making it a part-time gig and if things go well to make it a career. I took some time off from the corporate world a while back to serve as the primary childcare provider in my family. It's time to go back to work but I dont wan't to reenter that rat race. I really think I want to cut grass. I have most of my ducks in a row for a projected start time of late March/early April. My early plan is to stick almost exclusively residential and get my feet wet and a good feel for what I am doing before I even think about trying to land any commercial accounts. My goal is to average about 25-30 cuts per week this season between my regualrs and vacation cuts. I already have 4 definite weeklies lined up. I have a handful of strong vacation cuts lined up as well. I have been working on my initial ,marketing campaign and was planning on putting out a few thousand fliers over the next month, business card networking, about 50 personal direct mail letters to strong leads and if I still did not have my needed base perhaps using a direct mail marketing company targeting my immediate community. Any suggestions with any thing so far??