Buying bulk or as you need?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by AmsoilPower, Jan 10, 2008.

1. AmsoilPower

AmsoilPower LawnSite Senior Member

Wondering if you guys purchase your parts by bulk or as you need them. If you don't buy in bulk, what is the reason(s)? Does you dealer not offer a bulk parts (spring order) program? No one has ever approached you about it? Do you feel it it too much $$$$$ upfront?

Do you buy your oils (2 cycle mainly) in bulk. Several guys around here have purchased 55 gallon drums of mix. Some buy the cases. Everyone is different. Buying bulk saves you $$$$$ in the long run.

Shoot me a PM and I can give you a quote on bulk oil.

2. grass_cuttin_fool

grass_cuttin_fool LawnSite Gold Member

Im a solo operator so I dont have many mowers and dont need to keep Bulk parts. But I do keep spare belts and blades...before I did...it seemed I always lost a belt at the worst time.

Far as oil goes....I try to keep 1-1 1/2 years supply on hand.

wayne

3. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

I'm solo as well. I'll buy blades in semi bulk quanity along with a few belts and such. I don't go crazy though. I'll buy my sae hd30 oil by the case. As far as 2 cycle oil goes, I buy a couple 6 packs at a time.

4. SpudsM15

SpudsM15 LawnSite Senior Member

I only run one crew. And now that I'm working alot less and my employees are doing more % of the work more stuff seems to break. I like to have extra of everything saves on downtime issues. Blades, belts, 2 cycle, Oil filters, Air filters usually buy a bunch at a time to have plenty on hand. When something breaks I usually buy 2 replacment parts so that when it breaks the next time you have it. I run the same bp's and trimmers, Hedge trimmers, So it only makes sense to buy a nice stock of stuff.
    Chemicals I buy as needed but a month in advance. Mainly because I don't have a proper storage facilty for it.

5. meets1

meets1 LawnSite Gold Member