Buying home w/ 4 acres. need mower advice

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by osu9400, May 4, 2007.

1. osu9400

osu9400 LawnSite Member

I'm new to owning this much land and am really worried about keeping it mowed. I don't enjoy mowing and have always paid a service to keep my small yard mowed.

What type of mower can help me get the job done quickly? I need to keep the price of the mower as low as possible.

The land is 4 acres, it is flat, and there are several obstacles like trees and fences. Several means there are more than a few but not wooded.

I guess the ideal mower would be a fast ZTR, but I don't know what the best value is. I found a 48" Husky ZTR for $2799, but I don't know how fast it is. Can I beat that price on another brand?

Thanks for your help.

2. 1cooltreeguy

1cooltreeguy LawnSite Senior Member

With 4 acres go with a 72" and at the minimum 60" - commercial if u can afford it. Husky is not the best. You really do get what you pay for.

3. twj721

twj721 LawnSite Senior Member

round up works great

4. osu9400

osu9400 LawnSite Member

thanks for the reply. Which brand do you think offers the best value? I doubt I'll go commercial unless there is an outstanding value somewhere.

I also saw a Craftsman ZTR for about the same price. Is this better than Husky?

5. twj721

twj721 LawnSite Senior Member

have you looked on this forum under this heading MEMBERS ONLY FREE Equipment & Parts Marketplace lots of good mowers for sale and most would be alot better than a Craftsman or Husky .look here and see what you might find good luck and yes ROUNDUP DOES WORK GREAT AROUND FENCES .Twj

6. osu9400

osu9400 LawnSite Member

7. osu9400

osu9400 LawnSite Member

8. dwbarg

dwbarg LawnSite Member