Buying LZHP Soon

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by Gregg in CT, Sep 25, 2003.

1. Gregg in CT

Gregg in CT LawnSite Member

Hi Guys. I have been cutting my lawn and a few others for 5 years with a 48" Metro HP and will soon be upgrading to a LZHP. My first choice was the 48" deck but I am concerned that the deck doesn't stick out far enough beyond the wheels to edge? I really don't want to get the 52" deck because I have no room for a trailer and want to stick the unit in my pickup to get it around.

My second concern is how do you clean out the deck and change blades on the LZ'S? On my Metro I stick a 2x4 under the deck after lifting it up by hand. The LZ's are too heavy to lift by hand.

Last but not least, are there any good books out there to read on how to cut lawns? Since I am self taught and wishing to start up a part time mowing business, I would like to know if I am cutting lawns the best way.

Thanks All for any advice! Gregg

2. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

I seriously suggest NOT loading a Lazer into a pickup bed. Not very safe unless your ramp is long and heavy (ie: 10' long heavy duty metal ramps.) 2x10's won't cut it! Your going to be 350lbs heavier in just mower, then you have to factor in YOUR weight sitting on it.!

I suggest that you spring for a small trailer and go for the 52" Z and get faster top speed AND the much better trimability.

Good Luck!

3. Cutter1

Cutter1 LawnSite Bronze Member

first thing, if you are thinking of any kind of ZTR, get a trailer. Your asking for trouble loading and unloading a rider all day long. Get the 52 inch dech HP too. The 4 inches isn't that big of deal, but it goes 2mph faster than the 48 inch. 4 inches+ 2mph=More productivity=more $$$$ You also can lift the front of the HP's up by hand. I do it everyday with all three of mine. Just lift it up and slide a cement block under the wheel. They aren't that heavy, but you can also use a floor jack if you need to.

4. eXmark

eXmark Manufacturer / Sponsor

Gregg,