Buying New Equipement

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by SdM Landscaping, Feb 10, 2003.

1. SdM Landscaping

SdM Landscaping LawnSite Member

I have a chance to buy the following equipment from a mower who is going out of business. I'm asking what you guys think of the equipement and how much it would be valued at? I am just starting out so it may seem like alot but it may be a good deal thanks in advanced
    the equipment is as followed:
    1) Emark turf tracer floating deck 23hp Kaw 60"
    1) Emark metro fixed deck 15hp Kaw 36"
    1) John Deere back pack bp40 I think
    2) kawasaki string trimmers
    1) kawasaki single sided hedge trimmer
    1) homelite back pack blower

the 60" is a hydro and the 36" is a belt.
    What is the value of this package?
    thanks
    Scott:)

2. HarryD

HarryD LawnSite Bronze Member

how old is all this equipment & how many hours are on the mowers. thats really going to be the only way we can give you a ruff guess

3. IBGreen

IBGreen LawnSite Senior Member

Throw the HOME LIGHT blower away. I'd say if you paid $3,500 for it it would be a good deal. All you're really paying for is the two mowers. Unless the mowers are new you might have to pay a little more.

4. cklands

cklands LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA

Toss the homelite. Other than that how old is the equipment? Was it taken care of? How many hours? If the stuff is in good shape I would say anywhere between $3500-$4000 would be a good place to start. Good luck.

5. David Gretzmier

David Gretzmier LawnSite Gold Member

I concur- 3500-4000 unless mowers are nearly new. Daveg

6. SdM Landscaping

thanks for the info so far.
    the mowers arent but a couple years old the guy only did it part time. the 36" i believe he said only has like 20hrs and was new last year. I planned on ditching the homelite blower. He wants $6500 is that too much? the 60" machine is that much new right?
    Thanks alot
    Scott

7. FrankenScagMachines