1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Calling all firefighters

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by stevenf, Sep 7, 2008.

1. stevenf

stevenf LawnSite Bronze Member

Some of you might remember my earlier thread about firefighting but the rookie class is just around the corner and I really need to decide.
    I like the idea of being a firefighter, I also like doing my own thing like lawn care. A Friend of mine is a firefighter who just finished training and is currently at $25k a year.
    Realistically, a person cant support a family on that I know. I have been doing lawn care for about 3 years now and the firemen schedual will allow me to continue it.
    How much do you depend on your lawn care? Is it a seasonal thing for you or do you try for it year round? Do you pull in an extra $10-$15k a year just to live comfortably?
    My MAIN reason for choosing firefighter are to have benfits and a great schedual with early retirement.
  2. KCfireman

KCfireman LawnSite Bronze Member

i plan on working in the back of an Ambo while im off. I've got to get my paramedics license first.
  3. stevenf

I know 90% of firefighters have other jobs. I know another guy who works at a auto detailing place on the side. My question is how much do you depend on the side jobs? Are you at the point where two jobs isnt worth the firefighter career after all?
  4. jt5019

jt5019 LawnSite Bronze Member

I can tell you one thing you wont ever regret being a firefighter, its the best job in the world. If you have a chance i would go for it . We work 24 hour shifts here so on the days off you go out and mow.
  5. KCfireman

KCfireman LawnSite Bronze Member