camera

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by jbailey52, Jan 14, 2007.

1. jbailey52

jbailey52 LawnSite Bronze Member

I am using a sony cyber shot 7.4 MP camera... what settings do you guys recomend for shooting light scapes? No flash? They all seem to come out blurry for me.. thanks!

2. klkanders

klkanders LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

jbailey,

I have a Sony cyber shot 5.0 that I have taken a few lighting pics with. I'm no camera expert but just experimented a little. The beauty of digital is you can take a pic ,look at it to see how you did, and erase it if you don't like it....thats what I did. If your camera is set up similar to mine there is a black pic of a camera with a P next to it. Use that setting. As mentioned in other threads on here about pics the ideal time is right before darkness falls when there is a bluish sky yet. Its a short window but you will get to know it when you have taken some pics before, during, and after this timeframe and compare them.

3. steveparrott

steveparrott Sponsor

For excellent photos, here are some suggestions:

- Always use a tripod

- Always use manual (M) setting

- Set ASA to minimum value (usually 100)

- Always shoot in RAW format (don't buy a camera without this option)

- The camera's built-in meter has a display with an arrow that moves along a scale of -2 to +2. The zero mark is the camera's suggested exposure. By changing the shutter speed and aperature (f-stop), you can manually move the exposure so the arrow goes to the zero point. This is your starting point; take an exposure at zero, then take one at -1.5, then one at 1.5. I suggest doing this for every shot since it's hard to judge the best exposure by looking at the preview.

- Longer shutter speeds usually give better results. I usually set my shutter speed to 20 or 30 sec. then set my f-stop for the optimum exposure.

- Use a remote shutter release or timer release (set in the camera) to avoid shaking the camera.