Can a large wb fit in truck bed?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by green-pa, May 22, 2007.

1. green-pa

green-pa LawnSite Senior Member

I've got a dodge ram and wonder how many of u guys put your large wb in the bed if it's possible. I'd like to have one but probably can't afford another mower AND trailer too at the moment. Are they too heavy cause I don't see this much if at all. But this is my first year and I'd really like to upgrade from my 21 to make the larger lawns easier and possibly pick up a few more before the seasons 1/2 over. How much do these things weight; 36 in, 42 in, 48 in. I'm thinking 'bout a 48. I'd rather have a z but they are just outta my price range for a descent one.

2. ncls

ncls LawnSite Senior Member

I've put two 48" Scag walk behinds in the back of a full size Chevy p/u.

3. green-pa

Really? Do u have to get the expensive steel ramps which are like $150+ or can u just use wood made ramps which are much cheaper? And are they very hard to unload or can one man do it.

4. jbone

jbone LawnSite Member

The easiest way is to find a small hill to back up to to load/unload (with the ramps). Ive had my 48" scag wb in my chevy fullsize. The wooden ramps work fine so long a they are long enough... The steeper it is the harder it is. Make sure you have some way of strapping/securing the ramps while loading/unloading. I learned the hard way after dropping it once. and TAKE IT SLOW. Other than that its reall not that bad...however I feel spoiled now using a trailer.

5. MeadowsLawnCare

MeadowsLawnCare LawnSite Member

check the paper, you should be able to find a reasonably priced trailer in there. I bought a 5x8 steel frame trailer with ramp for under $100, of course that was a steal but if you cant afford that just make sure you have long, secure ramps because you definatly wont be able to lift the mower in, other than that it should fit just fine.

Thanks,
    Andy Meadows

6. mirrorlandscapes