1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Can I get started with $30,000

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dschmaus, Oct 17, 2006.

1. dschmaus

dschmaus LawnSite Member

A little background. I'm 36 and work a "full time job" I'm in sales and work about 25 hours a week. I make enough to sustain my family..

6 years ago for two years I ran my own rig.. About 30 yards, mulch and snow removal... I enjoyed it..

I want to startup again (taking advantage of my loose work schedule) Not planning on quiting..

Have $30,000 and need equiptment.. I have a toro groundsmaster 72 (that I mow my 5 acres with..

I need a recomendation on a truck. Will want the capability for snow removal. I'm thinking around $15-17k. Really am leaning towards an enclosed trailer $3500-4000. Mower 36"-50" deck.. $5000 Blower, edger, trimmers. $1000 Misc tools $1000

Want to buy equiptment with the thought of growing to business to more than a one man operation..

Thanks for the help...
  2. KrayzKajun

KrayzKajun LawnSite Fanatic

i started with a push mower, a weedeater, blower,and a run down truck,, now i own about $20,000 worth of equipment. start small and build is my suggestion
  3. dschmaus

dschmaus LawnSite Member

Actually that was my list of starting small..

The only thing this isnt "required" would be the enclosed trailer.. Put if done right, looks very professional..
  4. Uranus

Uranus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mass