Can one guy make it work?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by LawnFreak08, May 29, 2008.

1. LawnFreak08

LawnFreak08 LawnSite Member

Ok,...so I currently work in the Architectrual field, which I really like. I don't like however, working on the dirty side of the business with the legalities, and the 1 million responsibilities, etc. So, I'm always thinking of business ideas and how to make money a better way, with potential for the future. My wife is the bread winner (don't laugh) and makes a great living, leaving me with an oppourtunity to take a risk.

I've always been crazy into my lawn and landscpaping and have been reasearching trying to make a living out of it. I'm trying to look at all sides and aspects to it to see if it would be worth giving it a shot. I have a lot of resources for getting accounts, and have a good idea for making money in the off season and rainny days. I have big ideas for eventually expanding into providing more services then just lawncare like small landscape design, concrete curbing, irrigation, etc. My thought is to possibly contract out for the services I can't provide on my own. General Contracting items such as decks, patios and concrete stamping, etc. is my idea for a full service landscaping company. Again with the resources I have, this is very possible. I'm not sure that there would be enough money in small residential projects though to make the "general contracting" idea work and make money on my end.