Career Decision

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ACA Lawn Care, Apr 8, 2004.

1. ACA Lawn Care

ACA Lawn Care LawnSite Member

I am 17 years of age and will be graduating high school in May. I like to do lawn maintenance. But many people say I should't do Landscape Management. Their is a great two-year program at the local community college. Their are many careers going through my head. Careers such as medical technician, electrical engineer, or just major in business and see where it gets me. I have about 16 yards that I care for and business is growing, but my town is very small and not enough to support a descent business. I was thinking of moving near Memphis in the Southhaven area. What would you do?

2. Joel B.

Joel B. LawnSite Senior Member
    from MN

Ahhh.....................to be young again.

I was an electronics technician for 16 years before I started my lawn/snow business and I have kicked myself more than once for not staying in school and getting an engineering degree. There are lots of opportunities for an engineer.

I would think a medical career would be a good choice also, there will always be sick people.

If you are passionate about the green industry and like the work than I say get the 2-year degree and go for it.

Any job/career is a risk these days, you have to do what you like. You can never go too wrong with a good education.

You could always get an engineering degree and mow lawns part time. After you get your first job then you can determine if you want to keep mowing part time or sell the lawn business. Also remember that you don't have an employer giving you benefits when you have your own business............benefits are a huge part of a compensation package.

The best advice I can give you is be sure you like what you are doing, it doesn't matter if you are a brain surgeon or a ditch digger, be sure you like your job or every day will be hell. If you have a passion or desire for something, half of the battle is won.