1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Catcher capacities- how much can you mow?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by FrankenScagMachines, Jan 25, 2003.

1. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN

This question is stupid, hard to answer and you might not know the answer. But I will ask anyway. I have no experience with commercial walk behind grass and leaf catchers, so what size catcher do you have and how many sq. ft. of weekly lawn growth can you mow before emptying? I really only need one for leaves but of course it has to hold alot. Just curious, if anyone knows I'd appreciate it.
    Also what brands everyone using and list any prices you paid and websites where I might get more info.
  2. Shady Brook

Shady Brook LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indiana

It all depends on growth, and the size of your deck. With real heavy growth, and a 52" deck, you may go 50ft and fill a jumbo grass gobbler. With lots of leaves, you may go 20 foot, it all depends. There is no leaf catcher big enough, they fill so fast.

You will learn to cut down a lawn with heavy growth before putting on a bagger.

I prefer a side bagger for that reason, I don't want to take huge volume, it is to time consuming, energy draining, expensive filling trucks with grass. If you cut it before putting on the bagger, you can leave it looking great, and take way less grass. It would be hard to do that with a rear bagger mounted to a Z.

Look at a jumbo gobbler type, and you can get a leafxtender for half again as much that will double your volume for leaf season. They work well, and give you some freedom, not to mention cheaper then the big vac systems.

3. PaulJ

PaulJ LawnSite Bronze Member

Go aluminum