Cattle fence

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by forestfireguy, May 4, 2007.

1. forestfireguy

forestfireguy LawnSite Senior Member
    from nj

We have a large commercial maintenance account and we do several "extras" for them. One of the proposed extras is to install 10,000 linear feet of 3 strand electric cattle fencing. The terrain is pretty rough, I have not seen it on a topo map but I did walk it and it basically runs up the side of a mountain. We can use whatever means neccesary to get the intsall done, making roads, trails, removing trees, whatever. I will get an electrician for the fence wiring part but does anyone have a clue as to how long an install like this might take? Off the top of my head I'm guessing 3-4 weeks with a 3 man crew and 1 auger, maybe a couple days with a dozer for the really bad spots and a quad to run the wire out. I have never done anything like this before, I would sub it out but I have not been able to find a fence guy who would even look at it. I was considering taking a sizable deposit and then billing difference as a time and materials job, for amounts actually used.
  2. LindblomRJ

LindblomRJ LawnSite Silver Member

Do you have some pictures? It seems as a kid I built and repaired miles of the stuff. A electric fencers are a pretty simple creature. The shock from one is not the worst feeling I have ever had.
  3. Lucky1

Lucky1 LawnSite Member

Pick up a Lancaster Farm paper , find a fence contractor and sub the whole job out. A fence company will have pounders witch is a lot quicker than drilling holes. The easy part of the job is electrical. Many of these companies are Amish owned fair price and will only take a few days.
  4. farmboy555

farmboy555 LawnSite Member

What kind of wire?? Barb wire or smooth high tensile? If it's the hight tensile, putting up the wire is easy.
  5. forestfireguy

from nj

It will be high tensile electrified 3 or 5 strand I am not sure yet.
  6. ChampionLS

ChampionLS LawnSite Bronze Member