cemeteries for a township

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by juststarting023, Feb 1, 2003.

1. juststarting023

juststarting023 LawnSite Member

ok guys this is it, i have 2 township trustees who have been after me about doing 2 cemeteries for them 1 is 3 acres 95% uprights and the other 2 acres 100% uprights dont have to worry about anything else just mowing and trimming pretty flat but all those headstones man is this alot of trimming also take care of leaves in fall.i've never done anything like this before and i only have 1 employee other than myself but i can get a nephew who wants to help me this year but did'nt know if i would have enough work for him part time. anybody know how to bid anything like this? this is the township i live in and its not very big . i guess trying to figure out how much time this will take is my big question. do any of you guys cut cemeteries if so i would like to hear from you and if you do not i would like to hear your input.i know alot of you say stay away from them but i think this could be very profitable for me and fill the rest of my time i had open and and probably go full time this year and to hell with the man see ya i'm otta here i got a cool job!!!!!

:dizzy: :confused: thanks guys

2. Doc Pete

Doc Pete LawnSite Gold Member

I do two churches. First, it's impossible to get an accurate idea without mowing. I'd cut it once at "half" whatever your normal rate is just to find a fair price. However, you may want to "estimate", and I use the term loosely, about $175/$200 per acre, for mowing, trimming and blowing the walks. Last, cemetaries are interesting because there is a lot of room for "cutting" your time and improving you profit margin. I never use a 21" trim mower anywhere, but run my weed wacker at about a 22" diameter circle, and use thin line to keep the speed up. FYI, I've been doing the one cemetary for 10 years and the other for 20.

3. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member