1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Central FLA questions

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by FLAWSP, Dec 18, 2003.

FLAWSP LawnSite Member

I'm new to the Central FLA area and was hoping to get some good info here. Do most LCO's spray a liquid pre-emergent and then dry spread fertilizer in the fall and spring ? Or do they use a Pre-emergent encapsulated granular to eliminate double apps for the tech? Which yeilds the best results on St. Aug.?
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
  2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Florida LCO that apply pre-emerge get $5,000 Fines from the state Bureau of Entomology and Pest Control. Doesn't Matter how they apply it Liquid or Granular.

Since you are new to Florida You need to check out Florida Law. As a lawn service you can Apply fertilizer, But not Roundup or any pesticide unless you hold a Pesticide License from the state of Florida. The only exception is Homeowners of single family residents.

FLAWSP LawnSite Member

I apologize for any confusion, by LCO(PCO) I meant that my company is a commercial applicator, authorized by Ch 5E-9FAC and has been issued a Lawn and Ornamental Pest Control License under Ch 482 FS. I just passed the pesticide applicator test at FTGA this year in Tampa. We haven't treated any lawns yet- I was just kinda thinking I may get some tips/advice from some wise operators on this site. So, which is the better product for St. Aug?-granular pre-emergent or flowables such as PRE-M
  4. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

You had better read your License again. You are not legal to apply Pesticides to TURF only Ornamentals and then only certain Pesticides may be used. If you don't believe me then Call the BEPC at 1-850-921-4177 What you have is a Roundup License.