chainsaw advice please

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Orkin Yards, Sep 19, 2003.

1. Orkin Yards

Orkin Yards LawnSite Senior Member

I've been borring a friends 025 sthil everytime i need one, but i'm about to move from where i am now and just want to go ahead and buy me one, i'm a college student and i'm selling my company and moving off to a small college town that i am going to do some work in, the chainsaw does NOT need to be top notch because i won't be using it daily, but i do want a better than home depot one....i would spend AT MOST $300 so i need some recomendations, ask questions if i need to answer anything

so far looking at sthil and husky but i'd like some MODEL number recs, thanks guys

jeff

2. CTservices

CTservices LawnSite Member

since you are familiar with the stihl design, I would recommend a 029 farm boss. Good all around saw. They sell for right at $300 here plus tax. I have a 025 and a 041. I think that the ms290 is the new part number.

3. Orkin Yards

Orkin Yards LawnSite Senior Member

what size should i get 18 or 20? reasons why? like i said i don't use one often but if something comes up i want to be able to be out there and get the job done...

4. CTservices

CTservices LawnSite Member

I've got a 18" bar on the 025 and 20" on the 041. The 029 should do just fine with a 20" bar. Should be able to find a dealer and check the balance on a few. I like the combo I have, 041 for felling and large cuts, 025 for clearing limbs.

Good Luck

5. Darryl G

Darryl G LawnSite Fanatic

For a good all around saw, I'd say go with a 16 or 18 inch bar. 20 inches is getting a little big for all-around use, IMO.

Husquvarna (Husky), Stihl and Johnsored are all good brands that I've tried, but I'm partial to Husky.

The Stihl 029 Farm Boss or the Husky 55 Rancher (what I currently run) are worth checking out. Both have plenty of power and are on the border of high-end homeowner/low end pro saws. Neither is light though.

6. sildoc