1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Changing focus

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jaclawn, May 6, 2000.

1. jaclawn

jaclawn LawnSite Senior Member

I am considering changing the focus of my business and would like to hear some opinions from others who may have been in the same situation as myself. <p>First, a little background so that you know where I am coming from. I have been doing the &quot;Green&quot; thing for about 10 years now. I started as a mowing only contractor, part time. After about two years, I went full time. At this point I was working solo, and making a decent buck at it. At about the same time, I started getting requests for some landscape work. I did some clean-up work, renovations, mulching, pruning… not getting into any major projects like complete new installs or hardscaping. <p>I found that I was not able to fit all of the landscape work into my mowing schedule. With weather being a large dictating factor in mowing, I always found myself behind on the landscape work. You can put a landscape job off for a week without it taking twice as long to do, with mowing, if you are a few days behind, lookout. Sure if you are behind on landscape work, you may have a few upset customers, but the work is not nearly as time sensitive as mowing.<p>I was at the breaking point. I hired a helper, and was able to get the mowing route completed in 4 days, leaving 2 days per week to do landscape work. This was my original plan, but without the helper. So, I was using a part time helper 3 days per week, one day mowing, and 2 days landscaping. It worked out well, until the helper quit. I was overwhelmed at the amount of work I was faced with. I was not able to complete it on time, and had angry customers. <p>I continued this way, all the time having trouble finding and keeping go