Changing the hydro oil on Exmark w/b

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Gruneich Lawn Care Inc., Apr 11, 2001.

1. Gruneich Lawn Care Inc.

Gruneich Lawn Care Inc. LawnSite Senior Member
    from SD

I am in need of some help, its time to change the oil on the hydro system of my Turf Tracer walk behind. I have never done it before, im just looking for how to do it, and if anybody has some tips on how to change it. I did a search but couldn't find anything dealing with the changing of the oil.

Thanks Nick

2. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I have a 36" Exmark w/b. I've used it for five years and have changed the hydro oil after each season is over. I would rather have fresh fluid sit in the system in the off-season than last year's fluid.

In short, it is a messy job. There is no clean way. I put my rear drive wheels on auto ramps, back up the machine. This gives me clearer access to the underside on the rear of the machine. I use a standard oil drain container that I use for changing oil in my vehicles to catch the fluid. I make sure the right side wheel is at the extreme inside edge of the ramp so that the pan will cover as much of the fluid as possible.

Have a new filter ready to go. Simply screw off the spin-on filter and let it drain out. I run the machine for a few minutes so that the fluid is at least warm. The draining ony takes a couple of minutes. Remember there is no drain plug, just taking off the filter does the draining.

Fill the resivior with one quart of Mobil 1 15W-50 synthetic fluid. One quart should cover the divider plate inside the tank.