Charge for initial edging?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dbc45420, Jul 13, 2005.

1. dbc45420

dbc45420 LawnSite Member
    from ohio

Hey everyone. I am just starting out and was wondering when I get customers that edges are overgrown, do I charge a one time fee to get them in shape, then weekly after that would only be part of the lawn mowing charge? How much for one time fee? 40 an hour maybe? I am afraid of only cutting once and then they may stop so I hate to do it for free. I Don't think a contract would fly.

Thanks
    Brad

2. Green-Pro

Green-Pro LawnSite Bronze Member

I charge .85 per foot for reidential & 1.00 per foot for commercial for initial edge. I haven't had anybody ask me to maintain except a couple commercial props, if so I was thinking in the ballpark of .15 per foot for res. & commercial remains as is.

-Geoff

3. dbc45420

dbc45420 LawnSite Member
    from ohio

Just to be clear, are you saying that a sidewalk w/ curb 50 feet long would actually be 150' x .85? Since there are 3 edges. And thanks for the reply.

Brad

4. Green-Pro

yep, every single foot edged is billed

-Geoff

5. Green-Pro

yep, every single foot edged is billed. .85 is based upon the edge never having been edged before.

-Geoff

6. Jay Ray

Jay Ray LawnSite Fanatic

Recently did one that took me 35 minutes to edge, shovel up and bag. I charged $20 extra. Around 150-200 lbs. to haul off. I already have most of the customer's extended family and didn't want to push it too far. They are all very good to work for. Needed the fill anyway.

7. skurkp

skurkp LawnSite Member

so 200 feet would be $170????

8. Pro-Scapes

Pro-Scapes LawnSite Platinum Member