Charging for leaves

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ken50, Jul 30, 2004.

1. ken50

ken50 LawnSite Member
    from tx

This is my first year, so bear with me on this question. When the leaves start to drop in the fall, and you pull up to your regular customer's house and there are leaves everywhere, when do you start charging extra, and how much extra do you charge? I plan on running the mower over it once to get the volume of leaves down, and then bagging....is that the most efficient way to do it? I am in the Texas hill country...any help is appreciated.

2. DALMlawn&landscaping

DALMlawn&landscaping LawnSite Member
    from TX

just start charging extra when there are too many leaves on the yard to mow and mulch. hill country, you got oak leaves probably and sometimes they're so small and heavy that you can't mulch, then thats when you make your off season money by blowing and raking all the leaves. that, or you wait till spring. i'm in N S.A. so thats what i do. any more hill country texas questions, ask.

3. GrassBustersLawn

GrassBustersLawn LawnSite Senior Member

I put DOUBLES on my mowers in the fall. One set of blades is mulching. They tend to chop them up pretty fine. I will try to windrow them and then back over the windrow. Usually does the job on light accumulations. I charge 25% extra for that. If the client wants them picked up, I charge $45 per man hour PLUS 2 times the dump fee (to pay for my travel time to the dump). I have a 6x10 dump trailer that I put sides on. It holds 7 cubic yards. I usually blow the leaves onto a tarp and them pull them over the side of the trailer.

IF ANYONE HAS A MORE EFFICIENT METHOD OF HANDLING THEM, I'm listening!

Mike

4. ken50

ken50 LawnSite Member
    from tx

Jeff,

Hope you don't mind me asking, but is there a lot of money in leaf cleanups in our area? I'm not that far from you.

5. dcondon

dcondon LawnSite Silver Member

unless they want a fall clean up we just mow them up.

6. DALMlawn&landscaping