1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Cheap Spreaders

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by eruuska, Oct 3, 2005.

1. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year as a licensed applicator, and my first year acquiring equipment. I started with my Scotts spreader, but after walking a 54k property, vowed to NEVER do that again. I wanted to get a Lesco spreader, but the nearest Lesco is 2 hours away. I ended up picking up a 125-lb Agri-Fab spreader until I can get the Lesco.

What a piece of crap! The chute never wants to close completely, so when I turn around at the end of a row I get these little dribblies coming out. I was filling it one time, and the chute wasn't quite closed and I ended up with about a pound of fert on the street that I had to sweep up.

I hereby promise myself today, that I will pick up either a Lesco or Spyker spreader next spring. Or, if my fert n squirt clients multiply enough, a Z-Spray. payup
  2. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

This is too funny. Not 10 minutes after my post above, I get a call from my Lesco guy offering to deliver a spreader for me! I guess he just hangs out all day reading LS.com. I was probably going to get a Lesco anyway, but you can't beat that kind of service!

BTW, this is the Indy Lesco at 86th and Zionsville Road.
  3. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

You'd be surprised how many Lesco guys are on this board.

I had one ask me one time if I was LwnmwrMan on LawnSite.

Seems a complaint I had about service issues got back to him off of this website.