Chemical for leaves

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Don32, Nov 5, 2006.

1. Don32

Don32 LawnSite Member

Is there a chemical out there to spread on leaves to break them down faster without harming other plants? Its nice to blow into the neigboring woods but they pile up over time.

Thanks.

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Probably not, except lime. I can tell you this, though....The more they are ground up and cut up, the faster they will break down into dirt.

3. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Runner

Over the years I have not disagreed with you very often. However this is one case were I will disagree. Nitrogen will aid in the decomposition of organic matter better than Lime. Composting or decomposition of organic matter is a function of Microbial and Microbial population is increased by Nitrogen. It has been too long since I studied Microbiology so I am not going to try an explain the composting process.

BTW Urea and not Ammonium Nitrate is a better form of nitrogen for composting. Ammonium Nitrate is up taken by plants quicker than Urea. Urea must first be converted to NO3 or Ammonium Nitrate by microbial action before it is up taken by plants.

4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Ric,
    This couldn't be more true. I was thinking more along the lines if the N content was already there...especially if the nitrogen/carbon level ratios are in line (where they should be). Additional nitrogen DOES expedite the breakdown of the materials, though...especially if other materials are added that can increase the carbn ratio to much higher rates per nitrogen (things like paper, wood, sawdust, etc.). I don't remember the rates anymore, but it seems like the optimum ratios were like 30:1, or something like that. It's been awhile, though! :rolleyes:
    Oh, as far us being in agreement with each other? I can tell you this; For wisdom and knowledge, you have probably FORGOTTEN more than I KNOW (or ever learned)lol:)

5. tremor