Choosing a sprayer for a beginner

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by rmmllc, Dec 22, 2007.

1. rmmllc

rmmllc LawnSite Member

I have studied to take my pesticide exam and will take it when my local extension office is open (next week or maybe not until after new years). I have been mowing for 5 years and decided to get into spray applications this year. I would like some advice on choosing a sprayer. I like some of the ideas I have read about having a large tank- say 200 to 300 gal. (with only H2O, or do you mix your potash and other chemicals in it too?) with a smaller tank (50 gal or so) to make custom applications (for insecticides and pre-emergents, etc). What is the cost on such a unit? Do you custom build them? Can I buy a 200 gallon skid and weld a platform to it with a 50 gallon tank and plumb them to the same pump, then open valves to select which tank to use (am I oversimplifying this- I can do plumbing, but have never done a spray tank- is there more to it than that?)

Also, what are good brands? I have looked at the Lesco skid. I don't mind buying used- more money in my pocket. Any suggestions?

I will be doing foundation spraying too, but plan on using 4 gal. backpack sprayers for that.

2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

rmmllc

I am not familiar with your area or it's needs, But May I suggest you look into a Granular program with minimal spraying. Since you already have ride on mowers just add a Lesco Truckers for fast and easy application of granules. A 25 gal tank and boom sprayer can kill weeds nicely in short order. I realize People have an Ego problem and want the biggest sprayer possible to say they are an applicator. However if you can get past the Ego, Granulars do a fine job.

3. rmmllc

rmmllc LawnSite Member