Chopper Advice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mloolara, Feb 22, 2005.

1. mloolara

mloolara LawnSite Member

I bought the Coatesville Classic 50 " deck with the 20 HP Kohler and added the air filter system. Any tips on how to use this mower as I have never used a ZTR before. Particularly, any tips on start up, cutting speed, and maintenance including cleaning the deck (both top and bottom). Look forward to getting your advice on these and any other tips you may have learned. Thanks!

2. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

The best way to learn how to drive a ztr is practice. The more you do it the better you get. I'd say when you start mowing you will tear up your yard a little until you get used to the machine. One thing that might help you is when you are going to turn don't just spin your mower around and make a turn but make a Y-turn. Its kindah hard to explain but instead of making the full 90 degree turn just turn about half way, and back up and turn the rest of the way. That will help keep the mower from tearing up your yard when you turn. As far as maintenance goes just read you owners manual and do what it says and you should be fine.

3. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

As easy as the steering controls are on those things.........it's easier to keep it straight by driving it with one hand.........I use my left and grab both levers. Just try it and use your wrist to move each lever independantly. As for cleaning the deck.............I never do, it cleans itself!

4. mloolara

mloolara LawnSite Member

You don't clean the deck at all? Tell me more about this.

5. Jpocket

Jpocket LawnSite Silver Member

Hers a tip GET AN EXMARK! :blob3:

6. mloolara

mloolara LawnSite Member

I bought a Chopper last week so you're tip is not a good or useful one.

7. DennisF

DennisF LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida