Clay and how to grow grass in it?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by handyandy, Aug 27, 2006.

1. handyandy

handyandy LawnSite Member

I am just about to start my landscape service. Just about to get insurance, and apply for my contractors license. I've been studying lawns for the past year, buying equipment gradually, and learning as much as I can about the business. But here's my questions...
    In my experiments in my own lawn I have had some bad experience getting grass growing. I know the soil is clay, and nothing but clay. The grass grew in the spring for about 2 weeks and then slowly died off. I was watering it plenty, but never got it fully established. I am just wondering what the best way to deal with clay is? I have heard gypsum will help break it up, is this true? Any advice will be thankful!

2. dcgreenspro

dcgreenspro LawnSite Senior Member
    from PA

you need to open that soil up and get some air into the root system on a continual basis for a couple of years. That will help with the caly and compaction. If it were possible, incorporating some compost will also help. Next, grass selection will help tremedously. The fescues grow well in poor soil.

You have to know that compacted clay soil is harder to water than any other type of soil because of much you need to water at one time to finally get it to penetrate the soil surface. Although, once its wet, it will stay that way longer than any other soil. Hope this helps

3. turfcobob

turfcobob LawnSite Senior Member

Dcgreenspro is right. I grow a nice lawn on pure clay on a hill in Nebraska where the summers and winters are hell on grass. I aerate the hell out of it spring and fall to keep the clay open and loosen it up a bit. When I water it is infreqent and deep so the roots have to go after it. Too often and the roots just stay on top with no depth.
    Turfcobob

4. TforTexas

TforTexas LawnSite Senior Member