Cleaning engines

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Vandora Lawn & Landscape, Dec 4, 2000.

1. Vandora Lawn & Landscape

Vandora Lawn & Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

I'm planing on cleaning out the carbs on my 12.5 and 14 hp kawi and on a echo 2100 trimmer and a pb400e blower. Is this a difficult task to do? I've never done it before.

2. Michael

Michael Guest

Just keep everything really clean. I like to clean stuff w/ acetone, it's really good stuff, but hard on stuff you don't want damaged, like gaskets and seals. And be very methodical in your disassembly/reassembly

3. MWHC

MWHC LawnSite Member
    from Wyoming

It's harder on the smaller carbs like the echo than it is the 12.5 & 14. Remember how the linkage attaches and it should be a fairly easy task. Compressed air and carb cleaner seems to do the trick for me.

Are your engines running poorly or hard to start? If the engine is running smoothly, why mess with the carb?

4. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

I'm not telling you what to do but if you already went thru and checked the easy stuff then mayby you are heading the right way.
    I would check the exhaust screens on the 2-cycle stuff first as if they are plugged you will get poor performance. The bigger stuff can be as easy as a new fuel filter. I run a little Sea-foam mixed in the gas a few times a year with good results. If you stabilize your gas in the winter you shouldn't have problems.

5. Vandora Lawn & Landscape

Vandora Lawn & Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

My echo blower I'm pretty sure the carb is dirty as hell. I looked in the fuel tank and was shocked to see little bits of leaves floating around and dread what has been sucked into the carb.

It usually runs ok for like 15 mins then just starts to cut out.

6. Greenkeepers

Greenkeepers LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE Ohio