1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

cleanup w/ tree trimming...price?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Expert Lawns, Oct 7, 2002.

1. Expert Lawns

Expert Lawns LawnSite Silver Member

to make this short and sweet...

one time fall clean up: 2 hours, solo = $145.00

customer wants 4 trees trimmed. they are 20 ft high. he wants 8ft taken off the top, and then rounded off or shaped. i will be purchasing one of those pruners with the long pole and a string on it (name?). i've never done this before, i've helped with other LCO's that i've worked for in the past. how do i price this? it will be done same time as the cleanup. thanks guys

ps. good price for the cleanup? i've only done one other one time cleanup

MATTHEW LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE OHIO

You didn't mention what type of tree it was, but my guess is that you will take much more than 2 hours (for everything) without experience.

You should just price it by the hour unless you are sure how long it will take. Then you have your dumping fees to consider.

Good luck.
  3. Darryl G

Darryl G LawnSite Fanatic

I believe you're talking about a pole pruner. Without info on what type of trees we're talking about, I doubt that anyone here is going to be able to be able to help you. Topping trees is generally not recommended.

As far as the clean-up price, it looks fine if you can live with $72.50/hr.
  4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic