cleanups...you newbies listen up!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by GarPA, Mar 11, 2004.

1. GarPA

GarPA LawnSite Silver Member
    from PA

This topic has been brought up so often that I hate to do it again but if it helps just ONE new person in the biz, its worth it.
    I've been doing cleanups partimte or full time for at least 10 years.

Just finished one of those "cleanups from hell"..you know, the ones where there is 2 years of crapola in all the beds, sticks growing up everywhere, plants that needed deadheaded, etc.

So THIS time, I say, I'll estimate on it the high side and then add 30% on top of that...well guess what...it still took 8 hours longer(2 person crew..8 total man hours over my estimate)

so how did I make a 2 man day day job go to a 3 man day job? I was too lazy and stupid to dig thru the matted leaves to find that there were groundcover vines EVERYWHERE and the backpacks blowers couldn;t get at least half of the leaves out...solution?? yep...hand raking...then becuase I was so p'off, I backed the Z, with the blades running, over a $25 tarp I just bought this morning!!!! rip bang snap tear....and guess what I said to my stupid self?
    "You will never learn that cleanups usually take twice as long as your eyeball estimate tells you...you idiot!".

So now my arms are hanging down to my ankles, I'm filthy, and I'm tired. Maybe I need a new rule..."no cleanups unless you've worked the property before"....thought you verterans might get a chuckle out this since we all know how tough it is to estimate these damn things......and you newbies out there, take heed what we're saying here...now I need to go find the Ben Gay and some Geritol...

2. DUSTYCEDAR

DUSTYCEDAR LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

i hate when that happens o any new cleanup it is by the hr.
    and if they dont like it oh well:cry:

3. mole

mole LawnSite Member