clump madness

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Galt'sGardener, Apr 17, 2003.

1. Galt'sGardener

Galt'sGardener LawnSite Member

help!! I've been mowing for about three years now and am still going nuts every spring with the clumps in the grass, especially with the drizzly days like today in pennsylvania. I don't use a bagging system and am wondering if anyone has any tricks they use to combat this problem. I feel like i've tried everything short of raking the lawns and there is no way that's happening!:dizzy:

2. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

What type of equipment are you running?

3. Galt'sGardener

Galt'sGardener LawnSite Member

sorry, forgot that bit. Running exmark lazer 61" and HP 44". Have tried the gators on them both, and still getting the same results

4. mag360

mag360 LawnSite Silver Member

have you tried double high lifts?

I have had bad results side discharging with gators, they are for mulching only (in my opinion)

5. Navig8r

Navig8r LawnSite Senior Member

Are you getting a lot of buildup on the decks?

I was experiencing a lot of buildup on my HP when I first got it, and it led to clumping after only a couple hours after cleaning the deck. I was getting frustrated, :angry: then I applied Mo-Deck...... No more problems..... Occaisionally I re-apply it now......... build-up is minimal.

6. General Grounds

General Grounds LawnSite Senior Member

:blob3: theres the problem, gators cut the grass so small it clumps when wet. we use them only in the summer and the fall, during high growth seasons we use high lifts. go back to the blades the machine came with. tony

7. baddboygeorge

baddboygeorge LawnSite Bronze Member

double cut an stay off when wet!!

8. geogunn

geogunn LawnSite Gold Member
    from TN

I don't use LAZERS and I doubt the above advice is the only solution.

but it certainly seems the most reasonable!

GEO

9. baddboygeorge

baddboygeorge LawnSite Bronze Member