Cold calling works PERIOD!

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by mrusk, Apr 21, 2005.

1. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

This is my first year full time. I did not spend much money on advertising yet, because every hick in town with a pickup truck is advertising like a madman. So last saturday i started doing cold calls on brand new houses to get landscape and hardcape jobs. At the 1st house i picked up a 1300 dollor seeding job. That same house needs about 15k worth of pavers and plantings which i will get as long as i do a good job seeding. I also picked up 2 mulch jobs at other houses, and i am waiting to here back on a few walkway estimates. Every saturday that is nice and sunny i plan on doing cold calls to new houses all season long.
    I am 19. However, people seem to be impressed by me. I wear nice embroidered polo shirts, and have a nicely lettered truck. Everyone tells me that they called 3-4 other contractors in town, but no one calls them back. Thats the way contractors are in my town. I never though i would cold call but it works. Whats a better way to advertise then just hit the houses that need work. I have alot of landscape/hardscape/new lawn seeding jobs lined up, i just am not cutting that many lawns weekly yet. I figure as i get more established and build a reputation in town the lawns will come.

2. procut

procut LawnSite Bronze Member

One of the best ways to get jobs is to just stop and talk to someone. This straegy usually is what lands commercial accounts. Congrats on the new work.
  3. pagefault

pagefault LawnSite Senior Member