1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Collecting money owed to you

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by boxoffire, Nov 29, 2005.

1. boxoffire

boxoffire LawnSite Member

Ok I am pretty new to running my own business and cut this new guys yard a couple of times and he's owed me $80 for over a month now and I can tell he's probably not going to pay me anytime soon, if ever. What or who do I call to start the process of taking him to small claims court? I have the time and it's my first customer to not pay me in my first summer of cutting grass. It just eats at me and I guess I should get used to it happening from time to time. Hell, I've got to get his last name from him before I can do anything I would imagine. Yep, I only know his name is Mark. He said he was going to mail me a check on 2 occasions and stalls me when I go by to get it at his house. I want my freakin $80, dangit!
  2. marionlandscape

marionlandscape LawnSite Member

if you are only owed $80 consider yourself lucky.
  3. SodKing

SodKing LawnSite Bronze Member

You run a "business" and you don't even know your customers names?
  4. boxoffire

boxoffire LawnSite Member

Yes I do, his name is Mark. Ha Ha... It looked like it was only going to be a 1 time cut and I didn't write down his last name. Didn't think he would do this to me. Ok enough with the critizism, who knows what department I contact to start the collection process? That was my question. Thanks.
  5. PR Fect

PR Fect LawnSite Bronze Member