Collection System Blower Drive System - Pros and Cons

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jtkplc, Nov 7, 2006.

1. jtkplc

jtkplc LawnSite Silver Member

I tried searching for this and didn't find much. I'm wondering what you guys have to say about which is better, the Peco or Pro Vac collection system. I'm interested in knowing the pros and cons of a belt driven blower using the mowers power vs. a separate engine running the blower. I have zero experience with collection systems and I'm just doing my homework before a possible purchase for next season. Any feedback would be great, thanks.

2. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff LawnSite Bronze Member

I have a giantvac fastvac for my bobcat, which is belt driven. I like it, I guess the cons are its a little harder on the engine which makes top speed slower but you can't really go full speed bagging no matter what. I don't like the bulkyness of an extra engine not to mention the maintenance of an extra engine. IMO belt driven off the deck is the only way I would go.

Cheers
    Jeff

3. jtkplc

Ok, have you ever used a vac system with a seperate engine?

4. Lynden-Jeff

Demoed but never owned. Just wasn't in to the whole tow a cart behind the ZTR thing. Just prefer the deck driven hang on the back baggier. Very efficient and very good at shredding leaves.

Cheers
    Jeff

5. jtkplc

Do you have any problems with lack of suction with the belt driven one? I over heard a couple guys at my dealer saying that the ones with seperate engines create so much more suction and don't get clogged as easily, what's your experience with that?

6. Lynden-Jeff

Hey,

No problem with suction, actually does an amazing job at sucking up leaves. However if you let the bags fill up to the max it will clog like a mofo, however if your paying attention I have never had it clog on any other circumstances. I will post up some pics tomorow.

Cheers
    Jeff

7. Lynden-Jeff