College Degrees?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by KrayzKajun, Dec 6, 2006.

1. KrayzKajun

KrayzKajun LawnSite Fanatic

This may be a stupid question and i dont mean to insult anybody.

Do any of you guys have college degrees that help you in this buisness? I have an associates degree in buisness, i was wondering if maybe a degree in some sort of horticulture would help ?

2. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

I have a AD in Turfgrass Management. I took a bunch of horticulture classes to earn my degree too. Selling college based education is very helpful in distancing myself from other "as we go" educated landscapers. There is nothing wrong with it, but I like selling my education on top of my experience.

3. PaperCutter

PaperCutter LawnSite Bronze Member

No degree, but lots of classes. At least in design, I've found that the portfolio is what sells you, not a resume.

4. YardPro

YardPro LawnSite Gold Member

i have a BS in biology and a minor in physics...

i get more help from in in the fact that my customers know i am college educated, and the experience gave me the tools to figure out solutions to problems that may arise....

I wish i had more business classes.

5. salandscape

salandscape LawnSite Member

I have a degree in businees communications minor in Business Admin. Helps me everyday in dealing with customers and running the day to day. Also have taken lots of addtional classes and never never stop reading. Customers I feel respond to education and in my expereince take you more seriously (also depends on the customer!), not to say that someone who didn't go to college can't run a profitable business. Education also doesn't mean that I talk down to people, helps me talk with confidence

6. Husky05

Husky05 LawnSite Senior Member